Skip to content ↓
St. Bernard's RC Primary & Nursery School

St. Bernard's RC Primary & Nursery School

A Voluntary Academy


Governors are people who wish to make a positive contribution to the school and the education of its children. They will contribute to the effective day-to-day running of the school and have an effective input towards the educational achievements of its pupils.

In a Catholic school, the governors have extra responsibilities. For example, they are the employer of the staff; and are responsible for pupil admissions. The Local Authority manages the Admissions Process on behalf of the governors.

A majority of our governors are called Foundation Governors; they are appointed by our Bishop, Mark Davies, to uphold the Catholic ethos of the school. Every 4 years, there is an election for a parent governor, where parents are invited to vote (in the case of more than 1 candidate)

Our Governors visit the school regularly – speaking to children, staff and parents. They observe learning, examine books, scrutinise data and compile reports. 

Chair of Governors Mrs B Letissier
Vice Chair Mr C Hotchkiss
Foundation Governors Mrs L Lowe
Head of School

Mrs J Le Feuvre

Staff Governor Ms G Witherspoon
Parent Governors

Mr J Ellison

Ms M Snape

Safeguarding Governor Mr C Hotchkiss

The chair of governors can be contacted via email:

For more information on any of our Governors please click on the links below.